Chaos

Most recently, I realized why I really like art. As I was doing research for a paper that I had to write for a class called The Union between Music and Dance, I found myself descending into a realm of absolute restlessness, which eventually resulted in fits of frustration and idiosyncratic movements like obsessively untangling my hair and picking my nails.

I have always had a hard time writing papers because sometimes I don’t know how to put my feelings into abstract words. I would have something to say, but when translating those thoughts into explanations, the thoughts die. My mind wonders, jumps, and bounces around, and a thought easily escapes my head when I try to embody it in a “concise and clear manner,” which is what we are taught to write like.

On the other hand, the process of making art gives you all the freedom to do whatever you want. There is no need to express your ideas using standardized language, and you can spend numerous hours perfecting your art, the way you want it. There is no necessity of transforming your thoughts to the way your professors wants it or to conform to an academic universe. Of course, in college, the purpose it to establish a foundational muscle for learners so that they can venture into their own thoughts later. But, sometimes I just want to follow John Cage and do what he did. He dropped out of Pomona College when pursuing a career as a writer. In an excerpt from his autobiographical statement, he says:

I was shocked at college to see one hundred of my classmates in the library all reading copies of the same book. Instead of doing as they did, I went into the stacks and read the first book written by an author whose name began with Z. I received the highest grade in the class. That convinced me that the institution was not being run correctly. I left.

The more I listen to his music, the more I feel like my breath is taken away. His music means everything and nothing; and it is nothing short of spectacular. When browsing around the gallery, that is the feelings I get sometimes. I cannot eliminate the art down to one interpretation, but holistically there is always some unrecognizable form of beauty. That’s why I love art.

Ready for the time to stop

Soft and bold

Don't forget to say hello to the dog!

Posted by Connie

Leave a Reply

