Meet the artist: Dale Brian Hall

Name: Dale Brian Hall
Hometown: Grown in South Ohio; lived in TX, CA, NV, KY, and VA
Current City: Outside of Chilicothe, OH
Occupation: Finger painter

Dale smiles for the camera during the August Gallery Stroll

Inspiration behind “Three Sisters”: Three Sisters was inspired by watching three of my sisters stand together while smoking cigarettes. Not very politically correct, but there you go… They actually look a little different in person!

Three Sisters

Inspiration behind “In Among the Trees”: In Among the Trees was an experiment to see how a painting would look done entirely with leaves and sticks and a few pine needles. My neighbor was trimming a tree and I asked if I could have some of the trimmings. He was thrilled (the more I took, the less he had to pick up and haul away). No trees were harmed in the making of this piece.

In Among the Trees

Favorite artists: Wow, let’s see… Pablo Picasso, Jackson Pollack, Franz Heigl, Laurie Maitland, Alfred Gockel, Peter Wileman… The list is long.

Last thing I downloaded on iTunes: The Black Keys, Amy Lee, Muddy Waters… A great song called “The Chariot” by William Elliott Whitmore.
When I was 16, I was…: A tall and skinny class clown- “Mr. Hall, I believe you know the way to the principal’s office!”
I aspire to be: A grown up… Okay actually I would like to produce work that other people feel an attraction to. After all, that’s what life is: a journey to what we are attracted to.
Other interests: Listening to music (very eclectic tastes there), reading (usually have three or four books going at the same time), writing, sports, lion taming

3 responses

  1. Sister Four

    I actually think the three sisters looks exactly like the sisters!!! I know you couldn’t possibly mean I’m one of them!

    Love the Paintings!
    I’d love one for my Birthday (Wink Wink, Hint Hint)

    Rock On!

    October 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm

  2. Rhonda

    I am so proud of you!!!!!!!!! I love your paintings. Keep going. I too would love one
    for a birthday. I think I may be sister three!!!

    October 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

  3. Real Sister Four

    Couldn’t possibly be me I am the only one that doesn’t smoke

    October 11, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Leave a Reply

