Interview with Angie Terry

There are definitely many beautifully sui generis artworks at the Park View Gallery, but Angie Terry’s beaded jewelry and Pesanky eggs are not only fresh for the eyes, but are also dangerously addictive. Those pieces of necklaces, earrings and bracelets assume a grand luminosity and exude the sort of elegance that become instantly coveted. There’s also her gorgeous designs as well as her skillful use of color palettes, creating something for every women. Be sure to visit the gallery to see what I’m talking about — the photos do little justice.

Angie teaching her first Pysanky painting class

How did you get into making jewelries?
I started stringing necklaces a few years ago… Just doing what I could from books I looked at or jewelry I saw but couldn’t afford. Then, about 3 years ago, I took a beginning bead weaving class at One Stop Bead Shop in Columbus, and I fell in love with bead weaving. From there, I checked out as many books as I could find on the topic from the library, and taught myself a lot of stitches! My mom taught me how to sew as a girl, and I used to do cross-stitch a lot. These needle skills of my past have served me well in bead weaving, which is really creating fabric with beads and thread.

What’s in your toolbox?
My toolbox is full of pliers and needles, thread and wire, all kinds of little findings and beads and more beads. I have a hard time keeping all the beads and projects organized. I’d rather just be “making” than taking the time to keep everything in order, so my studio is a little messy!

Who are you thinking about when you are designing a piece of jewelry?
When I design jewelry, I think about all the beautiful pieces I’ve seen in books, done by the masters. I try to keep in mind all the things that work so well in the pieces I admire—balance in color and overall shape. I want all my work to look tasteful and elegant. But you asked “who” I think of. If the piece is commissioned, I think about the woman who will be wearing my work. For my other work…only one piece in particular focused on a person—Autumn weave, which is freeform peyote stitch over a glass vase. This sculpture was made after the untimely death of a close friend’s husband. I mourned him throughout the winter I made it, and I think of him when I look at this piece.

Living Water: Freeform peyote stitch necklace. This piece was awarded 3rd Place in the 2010 Hills Competition. (Image courtesy of Angie Terry)

Day at the Beach, Part Deux. (Image courtesy of Angie Terry)

Who are your favorite jewelry designers?
The two great bead weavers I know are Lisa Busch, owner of One Stop Bead Shop, and Jeanette Cook, a beadwork artist from California. I took a class from Jeanette Cook at One Stop a couple of summers ago. She is an inspiring beadwork artist who makes her living with her art. Other beadwork artists I know only through books, but would love to meet are Carol Wilcox Wells, Theresa Flores Geary, and Laura McCabe.

Where do you find inspirations?
I find inspiration in nature, my garden, photographs of others’ work and other types of jewelry. I try to take what I like from others’ work without copying their work–the balance, color pallet, shapes. A lot of my work mimics natural forms: insects, flowers, seashells. Nature is the biggest influence in my work.

"Bee Bib" Bead Weaving necklace. (Image courtesy of Angie Terry)

You are branching into different works of art, including painting Pysanky eggs. What other things are you looking into currently?
I’ve been doing pysanky for about 5 years now, since local artist Deborah Lassiter taught me how to make Ukrainian Eggs. I am a life-long doodler, so this art form fit my skill-base. I love to draw and paint, but haven’t done much of that in recent years on any large-scale. I love calligraphy, and learned that as a teen—this is a skill I still use from time to time, and have even used it on some of my batik eggs. I still sew and quilt some, so I have a stash of fabric. Enjoying a lot of different mediums adds to the mess in my workspace!

A student of Angie's Pysanky class

What would be your dream creative project?
I dream about doing more painting and drawing on a larger scale. I dream about so many beaded works that I just haven’t have time for. My kids are young, so my primary focus is on raising them right now. I hope I live long enough (and my eyesight holds out!) to make all the work on my dream list!

Autumn Weave: This bead weaving took Third Place in the 2008 Foothill Art Festival after receiving an Honorable Mention at the 2008 Chillicothe Art League's Spring Open Exhibition. (Image courtesy of Angie Terry)

Interviewed by Connie Q.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Afterglow « Park View Gallery

  2. We have all ordinarily been planning to pursue Nail Artistry.
    Thx for the site and routinely keep writing Interview with Angie Terry Park View Gallery threads.

    August 1, 2012 at 2:37 am

  3. Asking questions are truly good thing if you are not understanding
    something totally, but this post offers pleasant understanding yet.

    June 25, 2013 at 4:51 am

Leave a Reply

